Contact

Big Cats of India LLC . Altwiesenstrasse 181 . 8051 Zurich

.

.

Switzerland

Tel. +1 (971) 728-1887 (US)

© 2018 by Big Cats of India LLC

Consultation +1 (917) 728-1787

Corbett National Park

The first Indian national park at the foot of the Himalayas

 

 

Pantnagar, 123 km and Delhi, 295 km

521 km2 + 798 km2 buffer zone

 

 

November 15 – June 15

 

 

The most pleasant temperatures are before and after the winter between October and November and February and March. The best tiger sightings are in the Indian summer between April and June.

Our tiger safaris in Corbett National Park

Tiger_Ranthambhore.jpg

3 DAY TIGER SAFARI

3 or 4 days

from:

USD 690.–

TIGERS OF THE TERAI

15 days

from:

USD 3350.–

STRIPES, SPOTS & TAJ MAHAL

13 days

from:

USD 2580.–

TERAI & CENTRAL INDIA

13 days

from:

USD 2580.–

Portrait of Corbett National Park

The southern foothills of the Himalayas, also known as the Terai, create a breathtakingly beautiful landscape that is more reminiscent of Canada than India. The evergreen, dense forests on hilly terrain, the stony riverbeds with the crystal clear waters of the Ramganga and the open steppes covered with elephant grass at Dikhala are a real feast for the eyes. Corbett has an extraordinarily diverse flora and fauna, which unite species from the high mountains and the subcontinent.

Terrain of Corbett National Park

The southern foothills of the Himalayas, also known as the Terai, create a breathtakingly beautiful landscape that is more reminiscent of Canada than India. The evergreen, dense forests on hilly terrain, the stony riverbeds with the crystal clear waters of the Ramganga and the open steppes covered with elephant grass at Dikhala are a real feast for the eyes. Corbett has an extraordinarily diverse flora and fauna, which unite species from the high mountains and the subcontinent.

 

Peculiarities of Corbett National Park

With the simple and vegetarian Dikhala Forest Lodge, Corbett offers the unique opportunity among Indian national parks to spend the night in the middle of the wilderness. This is not possible in any other tiger reserve! The sacrifice of a little luxury in favour of a unique nature experience is always worthwhile. Corbett National Park bears its name in honor of the British hunter and later conservationist Jim Corbett, who spent most of his life in this part of British India known as Kumaon. Jim loved "his India" and its natural treasures – from childhood he wandered alone through the jungle and had many encounters with tigers and other dangerous animals, which he captured in his thrilling writings. He described the tiger as "the gentleman of the jungle", since he was of the firm belief that a tiger attacks humans only in the outermost emergency as as a result of an injury. Nevertheless, Jim gained fame by helping to save the inhabitants of the mountain slopes of Kumaon from notorious man-eaters. His literary works can hardly be surpassed in tension and confer an extra bit of anticipation on an impending journey to the land of the tiger.

Kontakt

Big Cats of India GmbH . Altwiesenstrasse 181 . 8051 Zürich

.

.

Schweiz

Tel. +41 44 585 16 06 

© 2018 by Big Cats of India GmbH

Beratung +41 44 585 16 06

Corbett-Nationalpark

Der erste indische Nationalpark am Fusse des Himalays

 

 

Pantnagar, 123 km und Delhi, 295 km

521 km2 + 798 km2 Pufferzone

 

 

15. November – 15. Juni

 

 

Am angenehmsten sind die Temperaturen nach dem Winter zwischen Februar und März. Die besten Tiger-Sichtungen stellen sich im indischen Sommer zwischen April und Juni ein.

Tiger-Safaris im Corbett-Nationalpark

Tiger_Ranthambhore.jpg

3 DAY TIGER SAFARI

3 oder 4 Tage

ab:

CHF 690.–

TIGERS OF THE TERAI

15 Tage

ab:

CHF 3350.–

STRIPES, SPOTS & TAJ MAHAL

13 Tage

ab:

CHF 2580.–

TERAI & CENTRAL INDIA

13 Tage

ab:

CHF 2580.–

Kurzportrait des Corbett-Nationalparks

Dieses wundervolle Fleckchen Erde im nordindischen Bundesstaat Uttarakhand am Rande des Himalayas wird ganz treffend auch „The Land of the Roar, Trumpet and Song“ genannt. Ein passendes Prädikat für den ersten indischen Nationalpark, in dem nicht nur eine grosse Tigerpopulation überlebt, sondern immer noch Herden von Elefanten herumstreifen und mehr als 600 Vogelarten den ornithologisch Interessierten begeistern. 

Terrain des Corbett-Nationalparks 

Die südlichen Ausläufer des Himalayas, die auch als Terai bezeichnet werden,   sorgen für eine atemberaubend schöne Landschaft, die eher an Kanada als an Indien erinnert. Die immergrünen, dichten Wälder auf hügeligem Terrain, die steinigen Flussbetten mit dem glasklaren Wasser des Ramganga sowie die offenen mit Elefantengras bewachsenen Steppen bei Dikhala sind eine wahre Augenweide. Corbett verfügt über eine aussergewöhnlich vielfältige Flora und Fauna, die Arten des Hochgebirges und des Subkontinents vereinen.

 

Besonderes am Corbett-Nationalpark

Mit der einfachen und vegetarischen Dikhala Forest Lodge bietet Corbett die für indische Nationalparks einzigartige Möglichkeit, inmitten der Wildnis zu übernachten. Das ist in keinem anderen Tigerreservat möglich! Der Verzicht auf ein bisschen Luxus zu Gunsten eines einmaligen Naturerlebnisses lohnt sich allemal. Der Corbett-Nationalpark trägt seinen Namen zu Ehren des britischen Jägers und späteren Naturschützers  Jim Corbett, der die grösste Zeit seines Lebens in diesem Teil Britisch-Indiens – auch Kumaon genannt – verbrachte. Jim liebte „sein Indien“ und dessen Naturschätze – schon als Kind streifte er alleine durch die Dschungel und hatte viele Begegnungen mit Tigern und anderen gefährlichen Tieren, die er in seinen packenden Werken festhielt. Er bezeichnete den Tiger als „den Gentlemen des Dschungels“, da er der festen Überzeugung war, dass ein Tiger nur im äussersten Notfall wie infolge einer Verletzung Menschen angreift. Nichtsdestotrotz erlangte Jim Berühmtheit, indem er die Bewohner der Berghänge von Kumaon von notorischen Menschenfressern befreite. Seine literarischen Werke sind an Spannung kaum zu überbieten und verleihen einer bevorstehenden Reise in das Land des Tigers das extra Bisschen Vorfreude.