Consultation +1 (917) 728-1787

Pench National Park

Mowgli's realm

 

 

Nagpur, 93 km

293 km2 + 465 km2 buffer zone

 

 

Oktober 1 – June 30

 

 

February to April; October to January are also good as it doesn't get too cold and the jungle is then beautifully green.

Karte Pench-Nationalpark
Fauna of Pench National Park

Bengal tigerIndian leopardstriped hyenasloth bear, Asiatic wild dog (dhole)Indian bison (gaur), spotted deer (chital)sambar deerIndian boarbarking deer (muntjac)Bengal foxblue bull (nilgai)leopard catjungle catIndian crested porcupineIndian haremouse deerfour-horned antelopegray langurgolden jackalIndian wolfrhesus macaquesmall Indian civetAsian palm civet

Portrait of Pench National Park

Pench National Park is spread across the two states of Madhya Pradesh and Maharashtra and is located in the highlands of central India. Pench is connected to Kanha via a healthy forest corridor. This corridor is used by many animals including the tigers. There is evidence of certain tigers migrating from Kanha to Pench and back. The tiger population is very healthy and the chances of sightings very good. The well-known BBC Documentary Spy in the Jungle with hidden elephant cameras was filmed in Pench. ​

Terrain of Pench National Park

Pench is one of the few areas of central India dominated by teak forest. The hilly terrain with lawn-like meadows and light forest seems to come out of a fairy tale. The Pench River, lined by large granite boulders, flows through the middle of the park and gives its name to it. The huge Totladoh dam is also part of the national park. 

Peculiarities about about Pench National Park

The area around today's Pench National Park was the inspiration for Rudyard Kipling's world-famous jungle book. Baloo the bear, Bagheera the panther, Shere Khan the tiger and Mowgli the human boy raised by wolves is known by every child. Only few know that in India several so-called "wolf children" have actually been found in the jungle. Unfortunately, none of them could be reintegrated into human society and all died after a few years. 

 

Tigerin mit Jungen im Pench National-Park

Our tiger safaris in Pench National Park

Wild Central India

WILD CENTRAL INDIA

Kreis_leer.png

16 Days

Leopard_icon_weisse-Augen.png
Tiger_Augen_weiss_icon.png
Observe_icon.png
Panther_weisse_Augen_icon.png

from:

USD 2990.–

Luxurious Central India

LUXURIOUS CENTRAL INDIA

Kreis_leer.png

15 Days

Leopard_icon_weisse-Augen.png
Tiger_Augen_weiss_icon.png
Observe_icon.png

from:

USD 7700.–

Kontakt

Big Cats of India GmbH . Altwiesenstrasse 181 . 8051 Zürich

.

.

Schweiz

Tel. +41 44 585 16 06 

© 2018 by Big Cats of India GmbH

Beratung +41 44 585 16 06

Pench-Nationalpark

Das Reich von Mowgli

 

 

Nagpur, 93 km

293 km2 + 465 km2 Pufferzone

 

 

1. Oktober – 30. Juni

 

 

Februar bis April; auch Oktober bis Januar sind gut, da es nicht allzu kalt wird und der Dschungel dann wunderschön grün ist.

Kurzportrait

Der Pench-Nationalpark verteilt sich auf die zwei Bundesstaaten Madhya Pradesh und Maharashtra und liegt im Hochland Zentralindiens. Pench ist über einen gesunden Wald-Korridor mit Kanha verbunden. Dieser wird von vielen Tieren einschliesslich der Tiger rege genutzt. Es gibt Nachweise über bestimmte Tiger, die von Kanha nach Pench und zurückgewandert sind. Die Tigerpopulation ist sehr gesund und die Chancen auf Sichtungen sehr gut. Die bekannte Dokumentation Spion im Dschungel der BBC mit versteckten Kameras wurde in Pench gedreht. 

Terrain

Pench ist eines der wenigen Gebiete Zentralindiens, das von Teakwald dominiert wird. Das hügelige Terrain mit rasenartigen Wiesen und lichtem Wald scheint einem Märchen zu entstammen. Der von grossen Granitbrocken gesäumte Pench-Fluss fliesst mitten durch den Park und ist auch dessen Namensgeber. Der gewaltige Totladoh-Staudamm ist ebenfalls Teil des Nationalparks. 

Besonderes

Die Gegend um den heutigen Pench-Nationalpark war die Inspiration für Rudyard Kipling’s weltbekanntes Dschungelbuch. Baloo der Bär, Bagheera der Panther, Shere Khan der Tiger und Mowgli das Menschenjunge, das von Wölfen aufgezogen wurde, kennt jedes Kind. Nur wenige wissen, dass in Indien tatsächlich mehrfach so genannte „Wolfskinder“ im Dschungel gefunden wurden. Leider liess sich keines davon in die menschlichen Gesellschaft reintegrieren und alle starben nach wenigen Jahren.