Contact

Big Cats of India LLC . Altwiesenstrasse 181 . 8051 Zurich

.

.

Switzerland

Tel. +1 (971) 728-1887 (US)

© 2018 by Big Cats of India LLC

Panna National Park

Safaris in dreamlike surroundings

 

 

Khajuraho, 37 km

543 km2

 

 

October 16 – June 30

 

 

November to May, between December and February it can get cold. Very hot from May.

Portrait of Panna National Park

Panna wrote tiger history in India. Not long ago, the tiger population of the park was completely wiped out by poachers. Sariska in Rajasthan had the same fate. That led to a bitter awakening in the administration of the tiger reserves of India - for too long one had looked away. The disaster became a chance to learn from past failures. The population was rebuilt and better protected with tigers from Bandhavgarh and Kanha, so that today again about 35 striped big cats call Panna their empire.

Terrain of Panna National Park

The picturesque Panna Tiger Reserve is one of the most beautiful tiger reserves in India, packed with breathtaking waterfalls, deep gorges and mixed dry deciduous forests. The Ken River flows through Panna and creates spectacular waterfalls on its way into the valley. The biodiversity of this national park is extremely rich.

Peculiarities of Panna National Park

Panna offers very good sightings of leopards and on the impressive cliffs of the park there is a large vulture population that has been almost exterminated elsewhere in India. The World Heritage Site of Khajuraho is only 25 km away and can easily be added to your itinerary.

Kontakt

Big Cats of India GmbH . Altwiesenstrasse 181 . 8051 Zürich

.

.

Schweiz

Tel. +41 44 585 16 06 

© 2018 by Big Cats of India GmbH

Panna-Nationalpark

Safaris in traumhafter Umgebung

 

 

Khajuraho, 37 km

543 km2

 

 

16. Oktober – 30. Juni

 

 

November bis Mai, zwischen Dezember und Februar kann es kühl werden. Ab Mai sehr heiss.

Kurzportrait

Panna hat in Indien Tiger-Geschichte geschrieben. Vor nicht allzu langer Zeit wurde die Tigerpopulation des Parks durch Wilderer komplett ausgerottet. Sariska in Rajasthan ereilte das gleiche Schicksal. Das führte zu einem bitteren Erwachen in der Verwaltung der Tigerreservate Indiens – zu lange hatte man weggesehen. Das Desaster war gleichsam eine Chance, aus den Versäumnissen zu lernen. Die Population wurde mit  Tigern aus Bandhavgarh und Kanha wieder aufgebaut und besser geschützt, so dass heute wieder rund 35 gestreifte Grosskatzen Panna ihr Reich nennen.

Terrain

Das malerische Panna Tiger Reservat gehört zu den schönsten Tigerreservaten Indiens, vollgepackt mit atemberaubenden Wasserfällen, tiefen Schluchten und gemischten trockenen Laubwäldern. Der Ken River fliesst mitten durch Panna und schafft auf seinem Weg ins Tal wunderschöne Wasserfälle. Die Artenvielfalt in diesem Nationalpark ist äußerst reichhaltig.

Besonderes

Panna bietet sehr gute Sichtungen von Leoparden und an den beeindruckenden Klippen des Parks gibt es eine grosse Geierpopulation, die andernorts in Indien fast ausgerottet wurde. Das Weltkulturerbe von Khajuraho befindet sich nur 25 km entfernt und lässt sich gut kombinieren.