Contact

Big Cats of India LLC . Altwiesenstrasse 181 . 8051 Zurich

.

.

Switzerland

Tel. +1 (971) 728-1887 (US)

© 2018 by Big Cats of India LLC

Consultation +1 (917) 728-1787

CENTRAL INDIA & TAJ MAHAL

STRIPES, SPOTS & MANE

Admire three big cats of India on a unique round trip through the North West – tiger, leopard and lion! Take this chance to meet three of planet earth's most impressive creatures on one single journey. This trip, which is accompanied by local English speaking guides, can be booked flexibly on request within the dates given. 

Itinerary

Delhi – Agra – Ranthambhore – Jaipur – Bera – Ahmedabad – Gir – Rajkot – Delhi

Transport

Flight, drive with private driver

Big Cats

Tiger, leopard, lion

Possible travel period

November 15 – June 15

Duration of the tour

15 days

Recommended_TripAdvisor_green_EN.png
 

Prices* Option A
in 3 – 4 star hotels & lodges

for 2 pers. USD 3750.– per person

for 4 pers. USD 2680.– per person

Preise* Option B
in 4 – 5 star hotels & Lodges

for 2 pers. USD 3990.– per person

for 4 pers. USD 2990.– per person

*These prices are valid for trips up to June 30, 2020 with the exception of the period from December 21, 2019 to January 5, 2020. Prices for this period on request.

Lodging

2 nights in Delhi

Ibis Aero City

 Pride Plaza

1 night in Agra

A Four Point by Sheraton

B Jaypee Palace

3 nights in Ranthambhore

A Tiger Den Resort

B Ranthambhore Kothi

1 night in Jaipur

A Welcome Heritage Jaipur

B Trident Jaipur

3 nights in Bera

A & B Bera Safari Lodge

1 night in Ahmedabad

A Comfort Inn Sunset 

Lemon Tree Premier 

3 nights in Gir

A Gir Birding Lodge (A/C Cottage)

B Asiatic Lion Lodge

 

Tour Program

Day 1

Arrival in Delhi

Individual arrival in Delhi. Pick-up and welcome at the airport by our English speaking representative, who will take you to your hotel, assist you with check-in and hand over the remaining travel documents. Overnight at the hotel.

Day 2

Delhi – Agra 4 hours drive, 220 km

After breakfast transfer with private driver to Agra. Check-in at the hotel on arrival. Later continue to the red sandstone fort of Agra, which stands like a crescent moon on the banks of the Yamuna River. Three successive Mogul emperors – Akbar, Jehangir and Shah Jehan – helped to create this massive structure that combines Hindu and Muslim architecture. Overnight stay in a hotel.

Day 3

Agra – Ranthambhore
5 hours drive, 265 km

At sunrise you proceed to visit the world renowned white marble mausoleum, the Taj Mahal. The Taj was built in the middle of the 17th century by the Mogul Emperor Shah Jehan for his wife Mumtaz Mahal as a tribute of love. For 17 years highly qualified craftsmen from Persia, Turkey, France and Italy as well as about 20,000 labourers worked for the construction of this mad tomb. The white marble was transported over a distance of more than 200 km by elephants.

 

After breakfast, the journey continues to Ranthambhore by road at 10.00 a.m. Upon arrival, check in and lunch at the lodge. In the afternoon first jeep safari in the park.

 

Remark:

The Taj Mahal is closed on Friday.

Days 4 – 5 
In Ranthambhore

In the morning and afternoon a jeep safari in the national park. Breakfast, lunch and dinner at the lodge. Ranthambhore is situated between the Aravalli and Vidnhya mountains and captivates with its rocky, wooded hills that merge into open valleys. The name Ranthambhore comes from the 1000 year old fortress that towers over the forest – an exceptional landscape where history blends with nature.

Day 6
Ranthambhore – Jaipur  3 hours drive, 180 km

Morning jeep safari in the park. After breakfast drive to Jaipur. Upon arrival, check-in at hotel. The rest of the day is at your free disposal. Overnight stay at the hotel. Jaipur –  the capital of Rajasthan is kept entirely in pink –  the color that is associated with hospitality in the Rajput culture. The Pink City, as it is also called, is picturesque with its fairytale palaces, wild fortresses on inaccessible hills and wide streets.

Day 7 
Jaipur – Bera 7 hours drive, 390 km

After breakfast drive to Bera through rural India. Upon arrival check in at the lodge and late afternoon jeep safari. Dinner and overnight at the lodge. Bera is located near the Jawai Dam and is unique in terms of the reliable leopard sightings that are only possible here. Bera has no forest, but is semi-wild grassland with rocky hills on which leopards throne.

Days 8 – 9 
In Bera 

In the morning and in the afternoon one jeep safari each in Bera in search of leopards, including a visit to the reservoir where you can observe crocodiles and a large number of birds. With a bit of luck you may also see a striped hyena or a sloth bear.

Day 10 
Bera – Ahmedabad 5-6 hours drive, 280 km

Last morning safari in Bera. After breakfast drive to Ahmedabad. On request, the lodge will provide you with a packed lunch or you can eat at your own expense in a restaurant on the way to Ahmedabad. Upon arrival check in at the hotel. The evening is at your free disposal.

Day 11 
Ahmedabad – Gir 6-7 hours drive, 350 km

After breakfast drive to Sasan Gir National Park. Upon arrival, check-in and lunch at the lodge. In the afternoon first jeep safari in the park. Dinner and overnight at the lodge.

Days 12 – 13 
In Gir 

Morning and afternoon safari in the park. Board and overnight at the lodge. Gir is home to the only surviving population of the Asiatic Lion. Around 500 lions now live here again, having been rescued from extinction. Gir lies on a peninsula in the
State of Gujarat and hosts besides lions also a considerable number of leopards – about 400 people are said to roam the park.

Gir is also an important breeding ground for migratory birds and is home to a number of rare bird species such as the lesser florican, the grey-headed fish eagle, the osprey, the Indian pitta and the red-headed vulture. Reptiles are also well represented here with the Indian python, the Indian star turtle and a high population of mugger crocodiles.

Day 14
Gir – Rajkot – Delhi 180 km, 3 hours drive & flight

Last morning safari in Gir. Breakfast and lunch at the lodge. After lunch drive to Rajkot Airport. Flight to Delhi at 7.30 pm with arrival at 9.20 pm. Reception at the airport and transfer to the hotel. Check-in and overnight at hotel.

Day 15
Delhi & individual home or onward journey

Day at leisure in Delhi or individual onward journey. In the evening transfer to the international airport.

 

Included services

The above prices per person include:

  • Hotel in Delhi Agra, Jaipur and Ahmedabad including breakfast

  • Lodge in Ranthambhore, Bera and Gir with full board

  • Continuous supply of bottled drinking water in hotels, lodges and vehicles

  • Domestic flight in economy class Rajkot – Delhi with Air India 

  • Entrances and guides in Ranthambhore, Bera und Gir

  • 5 exclusive safaris in a 4x4 jeep in Ranthambhore

  • 6 exclusive safaris in a 4x4 jeep in Bera 

  • 6 exclusive safaris in a 4x4 jeep in Gir 

  • Tour guide and private driver for sightseeing in Agra

  • Entrances to the Fort of Agra and the Taj Mahal

  • Assistance at the airports and hotels

  • All land transfers with private driver in air-conditioned Toyota Innova

  • All currently applicable taxes

  • The 5% of the travel costs that are donated to a local environmental or social project. You will receive more detailed information about the supported projects at the time of booking.

 

The following is not included:

  • Individual travel to Delhi 

  • Visa: all foreign visitors need a valid visa for India: the easiest way is to apply for an e-Tourist-Visa directly online: indianvisaonline.gov.in/visa. The e-Visa can be applied for up to 120 days in advance and is valid from the day of entry. For a regular visa you must send your passport to an Indian representative in your home country. More information can be found on the website of the Indian representations in Switzerland indembassybern.gov.in, in Germany indianembassyberlin.gov.in and in Austria blsindiavisa-austria.com. The passport should in any case be valid for 6 months beyond the validity period of your visa.

  • Tips for drivers and guides: Tips are expected when you are satisfied – for exceptional services you may also exceed our recommendations. Calculate with 400-600 INR per guide and 300-500 for the driver per day or half of it for half a day or a single safari.

  • Tips in hotels/lodges: we recommend not to tip individual staff members such as the concierge as this would be unfair towards others. Instead, at the end of your stay, put something in the most common tip box – the tip will then be evenly distributed among the staff. We recommend about 5 US $ or 350 INR per person and day.

  • Possible fees for photo and video cameras in the national parks and at monuments 

  • Personal expenses such as smoking, soft drinks, alcohol, laundry and telephone calls.

  • Travel Insurance

  • Anything not mentioned in the inclusions.

Remarks 

  • Check-in and check-out are always at 12.00 noon.

  • If the intended hotel or normal room category is sold out, alternative accommodations will be suggested.

  • Single room surcharges or larger groups on request.

  • Our jeep safaris are on an exclusive basis, which means you do not share your jeep with any other travelers.

  • Ideally you should travel in groups of two or four, as the jeeps can accommodate a maximum of 4 tourists (5 are possible, but not very comfortable).

  • The allocation of the park zone in which the individual safaris take place depends on the forestry authority and can only be influenced to a limited extent, depending on the park.

  • Entrance costs to national parks or state taxes may change at any time. Such changes will be communicated to you in good time.

  • Safari permits must be applied in most parks 120 days prior to departure. It is therefore often not possible to book at short notice or to change your name less than 120 days before the start of your trip. 

  • The above travel times from one location to another are based on normal road conditions and may vary. Every break for food, tea, toilets etc. prolongs the travel times.

  • Vaccinations: please check the current recommendations of your country such as wwwnc.cdc.gov/travel for the US or safetravel.ch for Switzerland. In general, standard vaccinations and hepatitis A are recommended. Good mosquito protection and long-sleeved outdoor clothing are recommended at dusk.

Kontakt

Big Cats of India GmbH . Altwiesenstrasse 181 . 8051 Zürich

.

.

Schweiz

Tel. +41 44 585 16 06 

© 2018 by Big Cats of India GmbH

Beratung +41 44 585 16 06

CENTRAL INDIA & TAJ MAHAL

STRIPES, SPOTS & MANE

Beobachte drei Grosskatzen Indiens auf einer einzigen Rundreise – Tiger, Leopard und Löwe! So etwas gibt es nirgendwo sonst auf der Erde. Packe diese Chance, um gleich drei Grosskatzen auf einer Reise zu begegnen. Diese Reise, die von lokalen englischsprachigen Guides begleitet wird, kannst du auf Anfrage flexibel innerhalb der angegebenen Daten buchen. 

Stationen

Delhi – Agra – Rhantambhore – Jaipur – Bera – Ahmedabad – Gir – Rajkot – Delhi

Transport

Flugzeug, Auto mit privatem Chauffeur

Big Cats

Tiger, Leopard, Löwe

Reisezeit

15. November – 15. Juni

Dauer der Reise

15 Tage

Recommended_TripAdvisor_green_DE.png
 

Preise* Option A
in 3 – 4 Sterne Hotels & Lodges

bei 2 Pers. CHF 3750.– pro Person

bei 4 Pers. CHF 2680.– pro Person

Preise* Option B
in 4 – 5 Sterne Hotels & Lodges

bei 2 Pers. CHF 3990.– pro Person

bei 4 Pers. CHF 2990.– pro Person

* Diese Preise gelten für Reisen bis zum 30.6.20 mit Ausnahme der Periode vom 21.12.19 – 5.1.20. Preise für diese Periode auf Anfrage.

Unterkünft​e

2 Nächte in Delhi

Ibis Aero City

 Pride Plaza

1 Nacht in Agra

A Four Point by Sheraton

B Jaypee Palace

3 Nächte in Ranthambhore

A Tiger Den Resort

B Ranthambhore Kothi

1 Nacht in Jaipur

A Welcome Heritage Jaipur

B Trident Jaipur

3 Nächte in Bera

A & B Bera Safari Lodge

1 Nacht in Ahmedabad

A Comfort Inn Sunset 

Lemon Tree Premier 

3 Nächte in Gir

A Gir Birding Lodge (A/C Cottage)

B Asiatic Lion Lodge

 

reiseplan

Tag 1

Ankunft in Delhi

Individuelle Anreise nach Delhi. Abholung und Begrüssung am Flughafen durch unseren englischsprachigen Vertreter, der dich zum Hotel bringt, dir beim Einchecken behilflich ist und die restlichen Reise-Dokumente übergibt. Übernachtung im Hotel.

Tag 2

Delhi – Agra 4 Stunden Fahrt, 220 km

Nach dem Frühstück Fahrt mit privatem Chauffeur nach Agra. Bei der Ankunft Check-in im Hotel. Später geht es weiter zu dem aus rotem Sandstein erbauten Fort von Agra, das wie ein Halbmond am Ufer des Yamuna-Flusses steht. Drei aufeinanderfolgende Mogulkaiser – Akbar, Jehangir und Shah Jehan – halfen bei der Erschaffung dieses massiven Bauwerks, das hinduistische und muslimische Architektur vereint. Übernachtung im Hotel.

Tag 3

Agra – Ranthambhore
5 Stunden Fahrt, 265 km

Bei Sonnenaufgang geht es weiter, um das weltberühmte Mausoleum aus weissem Marmor, den Taj Mahal, zu besuchen. Der Taj wurde Mitte des 17. Jahrhunderts als Liebesbeweis vom Mogul-Kaiser Shah Jehan für seine Frau Mumtaz Mahal erbaut. 17 Jahre lang arbeiteten hochqualifizierte Handwerker aus Persien, der Türkei, Frankreich und Italien sowie rund 20 000 Arbeiter für den Bau dieses Wahnsinns-Grabmals. Der weisse Marmor wurde mithilfe von Elefanten über eine Distanz von mehr als 200 km transportiert.

 

Nach dem Frühstück geht es um 10.00 Uhr weiter nach Ranthambhore. Nach der Ankunft Check-in und Mittagessen in der Lodge. Am Nachmittag erste Jeep-Safari im Park.

 

Hinweise:

Der Taj Mahal ist am Freitag geschlossen.

Tage 4 – 5 
In Ranthambhore

Am Morgen und Nachmittag je eine Jeep-Safari im Nationalpark. Frühstück, Mittagessen und Abendessen in der Lodge. Ranthambhore liegt zwischen den Aravalli- und Vidnhya-Gebirgen und besticht mit seinen felsigen, bewaldeten Hügeln, die in offene Täler übergehen. Der Name Ranthambhore stammt von der 1000 Jahre alten Festung, die über dem Wald thront – eine aussergewöhnliche Landschaft, in der sich Geschichte mit Natur vermischt.

Tag 6
Ranthambhore – Jaipur  3 Stunden Fahrt, 180 km

Morgendliche Jeep-Safari im Park. Nach dem Frühstück Fahrt nach Jaipur. Nach der Ankunft Check-in im Hotel. Der Rest des Tages steht dir frei zur Verfügung. Übernachtung im Hotel. Jaipur – die Hauptstadt von Rajasthan ist ganz in Pink gehalten – die Farbe, die in der Rajput-Kultur mit Gastfreundschaft verbunden wird. Die Pinke Stadt – wie sie auch genannt wird – ist malerisch mit Ihren märchenhaften Palästen, wilden Festungen auf unzugänglichen Hügeln und breiten Strassen.

Tag 7 
Jaipur – Bera 7 Stunden Fahrt, 390 km

Nach dem Frühstück Fahrt nach Bera durch das ländliche Indien. Nach der Ankunft Check-in in der Lodge und am späten Nachmittag Jeep-Safari. Abendessen und Übernachtung in der Lodge. Bera liegt in der Nähe des Jawai-Staudamms und ist einzigartig in Bezug auf die zuverlässigen Leopardensichtungen, die es nur hier gibt. Bera hat keinen Wald, sondern ist halbwildes Weideland mit felsigen Hügeln, auf denen Leoparden thronen.

Tage 8 – 9 
In Bera 

Morgens und nachmittags je eine Jeep-Safari in Bera auf der Suche nach Leoparden, inklusive einem Besuch des Stausees, wo du Krokodile und eine grosse Anzahl Vögel beobachten kannst. Mit etwas Glück siehst du auch eine Streifenhyäne oder einen Lippenbären.

Tag 10 
Bera – Ahmedabad 5-6 Stunden Fahrt, 280 km

Letzte Morgensafari in Bera. Nach dem Frühstück Fahrt nach Ahmedabad. Auf Wunsch gibt dir die Lodge ein Lunchpaket mit auf den Weg oder du isst auf eigene Kosten in einem Restaurant auf dem Weg nach Ahmedabad. Nach der Ankunft Check-in im Hotel. Der Abend steht dir zur freien Verfügung.

Tag 11 
Ahmedabad – Gir 6-7 Stunden Fahrt, 350 km

Nach dem Frühstück Fahrt zum Sasan Gir-Nationalpark. Nach der Ankfunft Check-in und Mittagessen in der Lodge. Am Nachmittag erste Jeep-Safari im Park. Abendessen und Übernachtung in der Lodge.

Tage 12 – 13 
In Gir 

Morgens und nachmittags Safari im Park. Verpflegung und Übernachtung in der Lodge. Gir ist die Heimat der einzigen überlebenden Population des Asiatischen Löwen. Mittlerweile leben wieder rund 500 Exemplare hier, nachdem sie nur knapp vor vom Aussterben gerettet wurden. Gir liegt auf einer Halbinsel im

Staat Gujarat und beherbergt neben dem Löwen auch eine stattliche Anzahl Leoparden – rund 400 bevölkern den Park.

 

Gir ist auch eine bedeutende Brutstätte für Zugvögel und beherbergt eine Reihe von seltenen Vogelarten wie die Flaggentrappe, den Graukopfseeadler, Fischadler, Bengalenpitta, und den Kahlkopfgeier. Auch Reptilien sind hier prächtig vertreten mit dem Indischen Python, der Indischen Sernschildkröte und einer hohen Population an Sumpfkrokodilen.

Tag 14
Gir – Rajkot – Delhi 180 km, 3 Stunden Fahrt & Flug

Letzte Morgensafari in Gir. Frühstück und Mittagessen in der Lodge. Nach dem Mittagessen Fahrt zum Flughafen Rajkot. Flug nach Delhi um 19.30 Uhr mit Ankunft um 21.20 Uhr. Empfang am Flughafen und Transfer zum Hotel. Check-in und Übernachtung im Hotel.

Tag 15
Delhi & individuelle Heim- oder Weiterreise

Tag zur freien Verfügung in Delhi oder individuelle Weiterreise. Am Abend Transfer zum internationalen Flughafen.

 

Leistungen

Die oben genannten Preise pro Person beinhalten:

  • Hotel in Delhi, Agra, Jaipur and Ahmedabad inklusive Frühstück

  • Lodge in Ranthambhore, Bera and Gir mit Vollpension

  • Durchgehende Bereitstellung von sicherem Trinkwasser in Hotels, Lodges und Fahrzeugen

  • Inlandflug in der Economy-Class Rajkot – Delhi mit Air India

  • Eintritte, Fahrer und Guides in Ranthambhore, Bera und Gir

  • 5 exklusive Jeep-Safaris in Ranthambhore

  • 6 exklusive Jeep-Safaris in Bera

  • 6 exklusive Jeep-Safaris in Gir

  • Reiseleiter und privater Chauffeur für Besichtigungen in Agra

  • Eintritte in das Fort von Agra und den Taj Mahal

  • Assistenz am Flughafen und in den Hotels

  • Alle Landtransfers mit privatem Chauffeur im klimatisierten Toyota Innova

  • Alle derzeit geltenden Steuern

  • Die 5% des Reisepreises, die an ein Umwelt- oder Sozialprojekt vor Ort gespendet werden. Du erhältst bei der Buchung genauere Informationen über die unterstützten Projekte.


Folgendes ist nicht inbegriffen:

  • Individuelle Anreise nach Delhi 

  • Visum: alle ausländischen Besucher benötigen ein gültiges Visum für Indien: am einfachsten beantragst du ein e-Tourist-Visum direkt online: indianvisaonline.gov.in/visa. Das e-Visum kann bis zu 120 Tage im Voraus beantragt werden und gilt ab dem Tag der Einreise. Für ein reguläres Visum musst du deinen Pass an eine indische Vertretung in deinem Heimatland schicken. Mehr Infos dazu findest du auf der Webseite der indischen Vertretungen in der Schweiz indembassybern.gov.in, in Deutschland indianembassyberlin.gov.in sowie in Österreich blsindiavisa-austria.com. Der Pass sollte auf jeden Fall noch 6 Monate über die Gültigkeitsdauer deines Visums hinaus gültig sein.

  • Trinkgelder für Fahrer und Guides: Trinkgeld wird erwartet, wenn du zufrieden bist – für ausserordentliche Leistungen darfst du auch über unsere Empfehlungen hinausgehen. Rechne mit 400-600 INR pro Guide und 300-500 für den Fahrer pro Tag resp. die Hälfte davon für einen halben Tag oder eine einzelne Safari.

  • Trinkgelder in den Hotels/Lodges: wir empfehlen, kein Trinkgeld an einzelne Mitarbeitende wie den Portier zu geben, da dies den anderen gegenüber ungerecht wäre. Gib stattdessen am Ende deines Aufenthalts etwas in die meist vorhandene Tip Box – das Trinkgeld wird dann gleichmässig unter dem Personal verteilt. Wir empfehlen rund 5 US $ oder 350 INR pro Person und Tag.

  • Eventuell anfallende Gebühren für Foto- und Videokameras in den Nationalparks und an Denkmälern 

  • Ausgaben persönlicher Natur wie Rauchen, Softdrinks, Alkohol, Wäsche und Telefonate.

  • Reiseversicherung

  • Alles, was nicht in den Einschlüssen erwähnt ist.

Hinweise 

  • Check-in und Check-out sind jeweils um 12.00 Uhr mittags.

  • Falls das vorgesehene Hotel oder die normale Zimmerkategorie ausverkauft ist, schlagen wir alternative Unterkünfte vor.

  • Einzelzimmerzuschläge oder grössere Gruppen auf Anfrage

  • Unsere Jeep-Safaris sind auf exklusiver Basis, das heisst du teilst deinen Jeep mit keinen anderen Reisenden.

  • Reise idealerweise in Zweier- oder Vierergruppen, da die Safari-Jeeps maximal 4 Touristen fassen (5 sind möglich, aber nicht sonderlich komfortabel)

  • Die Zuteilung der Zone, in der die einzelnen Safaris stattfinden, ist je nach Park abhängig von der Forstbehörde und können wir nur bedingt beeinflussen.

  • Die Eintritte in die Nationalparks oder staatliche Steuern können jederzeit ändern. Solche Änderungen werden dir frühzeitig mitgeteilt.

  • Safari-Bewilligungen müssen in den meisten Parks 120 Tage im Voraus beantragt werden. Kurzfristige Buchungen oder Namensänderungen unter 120 Tagen vor Reisetermin sind daher in der Regel nicht möglich. 

  • Die oben genannten Fahrzeiten von einem Ort zum anderen basieren auf den normalen Strassenverhältnissen und können variieren. Jede Pause für Essen, Tee, Toiletten etc. verlängert die Fahrzeiten.

  • Impfungen: bitte informiere dich über die aktuellen Empfehlungen von safetravel.ch. Generell sind Standard-Impfungen sowie Hepathitis A empfohlen. Guter Mückenschutz und langärmlige Kleidung im Freien sind bei Dämmerung sind von Vorteil.