Contact

Big Cats of India LLC . Altwiesenstrasse 181 . 8051 Zurich

.

.

Switzerland

Tel. +1 (971) 728-1887 (US)

© 2018 by Big Cats of India LLC

Dudhwa National Park

The enchanting legacy of a legendary conservationist

 

Lucknow, 238 km

1284 km2 including Kishanpur and Katarniaghat Wildlife Sanctuaries

 

 

November 15 – June 15

 

 

November to April, between December and February it can get very cool. Very hot from May.

Portrait

Billy Arjan Singh, the Prince of Kapurthala, came to this area of the Terai in the state of Uttar Pradesh in the mid-1940s. He was so intrigued by the beauty of the forest that he decided to settle here. At that time Dudhwa was only a nature reserve until it was declared a national park in 1977 on Billy's initiative. Dudhwa is far less touristy than other tiger reserves and therefore offers a sensational outdoor experience for nature lovers who also feel comfortable in simple accommodation.

Terrain

Dudhwa lies near the border with Nepal and is part of the Terai – a fertile lowland extending along the southern foothills of the Himalayas. The magic of this landscape, which Billy Arjan Singh fell in love with, will also delight you: extensive, fairytale Sal forests, lakes, rivers and green alluvial plains characterise the picture. Dudhwa consists of the three separate game reserves Kishanpur, Katarniaghat and Dudhwa which together with the Bardia National Park in neighbouring Nepal form a coherent protected area.

Peculiarities

At the end of the 70's some rhinos from Bardia stayed in Dudhwa. Additional rhinos were introduced in the 80's in the name of the Rhino project from Assam. The population has developed well and today there are about 40 rhinos in a fenced area of 30 km2. They are now being repopulated in a second area of the park as well. Elephants also move in the corridor between the two national parks and are sighted either in the Dudhwa Mountains or in the Sathiana Mountains. Dudhwa was also the home of a groundbreaking experiment that took place here. Billy successfully reintroduced a hand-bred tigress called Tara into the wilderness.

Kontakt

Big Cats of India GmbH . Altwiesenstrasse 181 . 8051 Zürich

.

.

Schweiz

Tel. +41 44 585 16 06 

© 2018 by Big Cats of India GmbH

Dudhwa-Nationalpark

Das bezaubernde Vermächtnis eines legendären Tierschützers

 

Lucknow, 238 km

1284 km2 inklusive Kishanpur und Katarniaghat Wildlife Sanctuaries

 

 

15. November – 15. Juni

 

 

November bis April, zwischen Dezember und Februar kann es sehr kühl werden. Ab Mai sehr heiss.

Kurzportrait

Billy Arjan Singh, der Prinz von Kapurthala, kam Mitte der 40er Jahre des letzten Jahrhunderts in dieses Gebiet des Terai im Bundesstaat Uttar Pradesh. Er war von der Schönheit des Waldes so fasziniert, dass er sich entschloss, hier zu bleiben. Zu dieser Zeit war Dudhwa lediglich ein Naturschutzgebiet, bis es 1977 auf Initiative von Billy zum Nationalpark erklärt wurde. Dudhwa ist weitaus weniger touristisch als andere Tigerreservate und bietet gerade auch deshalb ein sensationelles Erholungserlebnis für Naturliebhaber, die sich auch in einer einfachen Unterkunft wohl fühlen.

Terrain

Dudhwa liegt nahe der Grenze zu Nepal und ist Teil des Terai – eine fruchtbare Tiefebene, die sich entlang der südlichen Ausläufer des Himalays erstreckt. Der Zauber dieser Landschaft, dem Billy Arjan Singh verfiel, wird auch Sie begeistern: ausgedehnte, märchenhafte Salwälder, Seen, Flüsse und grüne Schwemmebenen prägen das Bild. Dudhwa besteht aus den drei voneinander getrennten Wildreservaten Kishanpur, Katarniaghat und Dudhwa und  bildet  zusammen mit dem Bardia-Nationalpark im angrenzenden Nepal ein zusammenhängendes Schutzgebiet.

Besonderes

Ende der 70er Jahre blieben einige Nashörner, die aus Bardia kamen, in Dudhwa. Zusätzliche Panzernashörner wurden in den 80er Jahren im Rhamen des Projekts Rhino aus Assam eingeführt. Die Population hat sich gut entwickelt und heute gibt es circa 40 Nashörner in einer umzäunten Fläche von 30 km2. Sie werden nun auch in einem anderen Bereich des Parks wiederangesiedelt. Auch Elefanten bewegen sich im Korridor zwischen den beiden Nationalparks und werden entweder im Dudhwa-Gebirge oder im Sathiana-Gebirge gesichtet. Dudhwa war auch die Heimat eines bahnbrechenden Experiments, das hier stattfand. Billy führte eine handgezüchtete Tigerin namens Tara erfolgreich in die Wildnis ein.