Contact

Big Cats of India LLC . Altwiesenstrasse 181 . 8051 Zurich

.

.

Switzerland

Tel. +1 (971) 728-1887 (US)

© 2018 by Big Cats of India LLC

Kanha National Park

Large and famous tiger reserve in the central Indian highlands

 

Jabalpur, 160 km

940 km2 + 1005 km2 buffer zone

 

 

November 15 – June 15

 

 

The most pleasant temperatures are after winter between February and the beginning of June. The best tiger sightings occur in the Indian summer between April and June.

Portrait

Kanha is located on the eastern foothills of the Satpura Mountains in the central Indian state of Madhya Pradesh. With a core zone of around 940 km2 and a further 1005 km2 buffer zone, Kanha is one of India's largest and best-known national parks in terms of area, offering excellent opportunities for tiger sightings. 

Terrain

Kanha is spectacular at any time of the year. The trails are lined with tall Sal trees and lead into open meadows, bamboo slopes or dense mixed forests. Typical for Kahna are the large grassy areas with swamps, which are used by the Barasingha deer for bathing. The two big rivers Banjar and Halon feed the Kanha plateau with clean water.

Peculiarities

In Kanha lives the last wild population of Highland Barasinghas, a subspecies of Barasingha, which is also called swamp deer due to its preference for its habitat. The area around today's national park and the surrounding buffer zone has been inhabited by the indigenous Gondwanas for generations.

Kanha-Nationalpark

Grosses und bekanntes Tigerreservat im zentralindischen Hochland

 

Jabalpur, 160 km

940 km2 + 1005 km2 Pufferzone

 

 

15. November – 15. Juni

 

 

Am angenehmsten sind die Temperaturen nach dem Winter zwischen Februar und Anfang Juni. Die besten Tiger-Sichtungen stellen sich im indischen Sommer zwischen April und Juni ein

Kurzportrait des Kanha-Nationalparks

Kanha liegt an den östlichen Ausläufern des Satpura-Gebirges im zentralindischen Bundesstaat Madhya Pradesh. Mit einer Kernzone von rund 940 km2 und weiteren 1005 km2 Pufferzone ist Kanha einer der flächenmässig grössten und bekanntesten Nationalparks Indiens, der sehr gute Chancen für Tigersichtungen bietet. 

Terrain des Kanha-Nationalparks

Kanha ist zu jeder Jahreszeit spektakulär. Die von hohen Sal-Bäumen gesäumten Wege gehen immer wieder über in offene Wiesen, Bambushänge oder dichte Mischwälder. Typisch für Kahna sind die grossen, von Sümpfen durchzogenen Grasflächen, die von den Barasingha-Hirschen zum Baden genutzt werden. Die beiden grosse Flüssen Banjar und Halon speisen die Hochebene von Kanha mit sauberem Wasser.

Besonderes am Kanha-Nationalpark

In Kanha lebt die letzte wildlebende Population des Hochlandbarasinghas , eine Unterart des Barasinghas, aufgrund seiner Präferenz für sein Habitat auch Sumpfhirsch genannt. Das Gebiet um den heutigen Nationalpark und die umschliessende Pufferzone ist seit Generationen von den Gondwanas, der lokalen Ureinwohner bewohnt. 

Kontakt

Big Cats of India GmbH . Altwiesenstrasse 181 . 8051 Zürich

.

.

Schweiz

Tel. +41 44 585 16 06 

© 2018 by Big Cats of India GmbH