Contact

Big Cats of India LLC . Altwiesenstrasse 181 . 8051 Zurich

.

.

Switzerland

Tel. +1 (971) 728-1887 (US)

© 2018 by Big Cats of India LLC

Consultation +1 (917) 728-1787

PEARLS OF THE NORTH EAST

India's north east is a paradise of its own, which only a few have got to known so far. This sparsely populated region's natural treasures, however, are immeasurable. In Assam beats the wild heart of Asia and the equivalent to Africa – the mega fauna includes elephant, wild water buffalo and rhino as well 7 species of cats. This trip, which is accompanied by local English speaking guides, can be booked flexibly on request within the dates given. 

Itinerary

Delhi – Guwahati – Nameri – Kaziranga – Gibbon Sanctuary – Dibru-Saikhowa – Diburgarh – Delhi

Transport

Flight, drive with private driver 

Big Cats

Tiger, leopard, clouded leopard

Possible period of travel

October 1 – May 30

Duration of tour

12 days

Recommended_TripAdvisor_green_EN.png
 

Prices option A
in 3  star hotels & lodges

for 2 pers. USD 4200.–* per person

for 4 pers. USD 3590.–per person

Prices option B
in 4 star hotels & lodges

for 2 pers. USD 5990.–* per person

for 4 pers. USD 5200.–* per person

* These prices are valid for trips up to June 30, 2020 with the exception of the period from December 21, 2019 to January 5, 2020. Prices for this period on request.

Lodging

1 night in Delhi

A & B Holiday Inn Aero City

2 nights in Nameri

A & B Eco Camp

3 nights in Kaziranga

A Jupuri Ghar

B IORA Retreat

 

1 night at the Gibbon Wildlife Sanctuary

A Gibbon Home Stay

B Banyan Grove Heritage (Bungalow)

 

3 nights in Dibru-Saikhowa

A Padmini Resort

B Wathai Heritage Tea (Bungalow)

1 night in Delhi

A & B Holiday Inn Aero City

 

Tour Program

Day 1

Arrival in Delhi

Individual arrival in Delhi. Pick-up and welcome at the airport by our English speaking representative, who will take you to your hotel, assist you with check-in and hand over the remaining travel documents. Overnight at the hotel.

Day 2

Delhi – Guwahati – Nameri

Flight & 5 – 6 hours drive, 280 km

In the morning after breakfast transfer to the airport and at 7.45 am by plane to Guwahati in the state of Assam. Arrival at Guwahati airport at 10.00 am where you will be picked up by our driver and taken to Nameri National Park. Upon arrival, check-in and lunch at the lodge. Evening bird watching near the lodge with a local guide. Dinner and overnight at the lodge.

Day 3

In Nameri
Choose between a jungle walk, a boat trip or a rafting trip on the river Jia Bhoroli, which crosses the park. Nameri is a dream come true for every nature lover – the fabulously wild landscape offers a habitat for an exotic variety of plants and animals – including elephants and predators such as tigers, leopards, clouded leopards, sloth bears and Asian black bears. With over 300 species of birds, Nameri is also a fantastic destination for ornithologists. Nameri is located in the foothills of the eastern Himalayas in the Sonitpur District, about 35 km from the larger town of Tezpur. The nearest village, Chariduar, is about 9 km from the park.

 

Remark:

The above mentioned activities are not always available and depend among other things on weather conditions.

Day 4  
Nameri – Kaziranga 2 hours drive, 90 km

Early morning jungle walk to observe birds and animals in Nameri. After breakfast drive to Kaziranga. Upon arrival, check in, lunch and afternoon jeep safari in the National Park. Kaziranga's sensational biodiversity and large animal density is unique and UNESCO World Heritage. Its Big Five are the tiger, rhino, elephant, wild water buffalo and barasingha or swamp deer. Marvel at the high concentration of these mighty herbivores, reminiscent of the African savanna. Dinner and overnight stay at the lodge.

Day 5

In Kaziranga 

Breakfast, lunch and dinner at the lodge. One jeep safari each morning and evening in Kaziranga. Enjoy the incredible fauna of this extraordinary national park!

Day 6 
In Kaziranga

Breakfast, lunch and dinner at the lodge. After breakfast motorboat safari on the Brahmaputra to observe the gangetic dolphin. Outdoor picnic with packed lunch box. Dinner and overnight at the lodge.

Day 7 
Kaziranga – Gibbon Sanctuary

2-3 hours drive, 110 km

In the morning jeep safari in the national park and later drive to the Gibbon Wildlife Sanctuary. On arrival, check-in and lunch at the guesthouse. In the afternoon visit the Gibbon Wildlife Sanctuary. Dinner and overnight at the guesthouse.

The unique Gibbon Wildlife Sanctuary is home to 7 species of primates, including India's only ape, the hoolock gibbon. The Gibbon Sanctuary is an isolated conservation area with evergreen tropical forest, founded in 1881. Since then, the forest has been heavily deforested and is now surrounded by tea gardens and small villages.

Day 8
Gibbon Sanctuary – Dibru-Saikhowa

3-4 hours drive, 180 km

In the morning another visit to the Gibbon Sanctuary in search of gibbons and other wildlife. Later transfer to the lodge near Dibru-Saikhowa in Tinsukia. Check-in and lunch at the lodge. In the afternoon visit the Maguri Beel marsh to look for rare waders. Dinner and overnight at the lodge.

Day 9
In Dibru-Saikhowa

You explore the Dibru-Saikhowa National Park all day by motorboat and on foot. Dibru-Saikhowa is a little known but very worthwhile national park in Assam, albeit with very simple accommodation. The park is known for its wild horses and water buffalos and is home to endangered bird species worldwide such as the white-winged duck, white-bellied heron, lesser adjutantPalla's fish eagle, and swamp francolin

Day 10

At Dehing Patkai Wildlife Sanctuary

Full day safari at Dehing Patkai Wildlife Sanctuary. Harboring the Bengal tiger, Indian leopard, clouded leopard, jungle cat, Asian golden cat, leopard cat and marbled cat, this is the only known forest in the world that harbours 7 different species of wild cats. Dehing Patkei is also a dream for primates: of the fifteen species found in India, seven live in this rainforest. Dinner and overnight at the lodge.

Day 11

Dehing Patkai Wildlife Sanctuary – Diburgarh 2 hours drive, 70 km

In the morning another visit to the Wildlife Sanctuary followed by a transfer to the airport of Diburgarh. Departure to Delhi at 2.05pm with arrival at 6.20pm. Transfer to the hotel. Check-in and overnight at hotel.

Day 12
Delhi & individual home or onward journey

Day at leisure in Delhi or individual onward journey. In the evening transfer to the international airport.

 

Included services

The above prices per person include:

  • Hotel in Delhi including breakfast

  • Lodge in Nameri, Kaziranga, Gibbon Sanctuary and Dibru-Saikhowa with full board

  • Continuous supply of bottled drinking water in hotels, lodges and vehicles

  • Domestic flights in economy class Delhi-Guwahati with Air Asia and Diburgarh– Delhi with Indigo Airlines

  • Entrances and guides in Nameri, Kaziranga, Gibbon Wildlife Sanctuary, Dibru-Saikhowa and Dehing Patkai Wildlife Sanctuary

  • Private SUV at Gibbon Sanctuary and Dibru-Saikhowa

  • 1 private boat safari each in Maguri Beel and Dibru-Saikhowa

  • Private safari in motor rubber boat in Nameri

  • Private river cruise in search of gangetic dolphins in motorboat in Kaziranga

  • 5 exclusive safaris in a 4x4 jeep in Kaziranga

  • 1 elephant safari during stay in Kaziranga

  • 5 exclusive safaris in a 4x4 jeep in Kanha 

  • Local English speaking guides in all parks and sanctuaries

  • Assistance at the airports and hotels

  • All land transfers with private driver in air-conditioned Toyota Innova

  • All currently applicable taxes

  • The 5% of the travel costs that are donated to a local environmental or social project. You will receive more detailed information about the supported projects at the time of booking.

 

The following is not included:

  • Individual travel to Delhi 

  • Visa: all foreign visitors need a valid visa for India: the easiest way is to apply for an e-Tourist-Visa directly online: indianvisaonline.gov.in/visa. The e-Visa can be applied for up to 120 days in advance and is valid from the day of entry. For a regular visa you must send your passport to an Indian representative in your home country. More information can be found on the website of the Indian representations in Switzerland indembassybern.gov.in, in Germany indianembassyberlin.gov.in and in Austria blsindiavisa-austria.com. The passport should in any case be valid for 6 months beyond the validity period of your visa.

  • Tips for drivers and guides: Tips are expected when you are satisfied – for exceptional services you may also exceed our recommendations. Calculate with 400-600 INR per guide and 300-500 for the driver per day or half of it for half a day or a single safari.

  • Tips in hotels/lodges: we recommend not to tip individual staff members such as the concierge as this would be unfair towards others. Instead, at the end of your stay, put something in the most common tip box – the tip will then be evenly distributed among the staff. We recommend about 5 US $ or 350 INR per person and day.

  • Possible fees for photo and video cameras in the national parks and at monuments 

  • Personal expenses such as smoking, soft drinks, alcohol, laundry and telephone calls.

  • Travel Insurance

  • Anything not mentioned in the inclusions.

 

Remarks 

  • Check-in and check-out are always at 12.00 noon.

  • If the intended hotel or normal room category is sold out, alternative accommodations will be suggested.

  • Single room surcharges or larger groups on request.

  • Our jeep safaris are on an exclusive basis, which means you do not share your jeep with any other travelers.

  • Ideally you should travel in groups of two or four, as the jeeps can accommodate a maximum of 4 tourists (5 are possible, but not very comfortable).

  • The allocation of the park zone in which the individual safaris take place depends on the forestry authority and can only be influenced to a limited extent, depending on the park.

  • Entrance costs to national parks or state taxes may change at any time. Such changes will be communicated to you in good time.

  • Safari permits must be applied in most parks 120 days prior to departure. It is therefore often not possible to book at short notice or to change your name less than 120 days before the start of your trip. 

  • The above travel times from one location to another are based on normal road conditions and may vary. Every break for food, tea, toilets etc. prolongs the travel times.

  • Vaccinations: please check the current recommendations of your country such as wwwnc.cdc.gov/travel for the US or safetravel.ch for Switzerland. In general, standard vaccinations and hepatitis A are recommended. Good mosquito protection and long-sleeved outdoor clothing are recommended at dusk.

Kontakt

Big Cats of India GmbH . Altwiesenstrasse 181 . 8051 Zürich

.

.

Schweiz

Tel. +41 44 585 16 06 

© 2018 by Big Cats of India GmbH

Beratung +41 44 585 16 06

PEARLS OF THE NORTH EAST

Indiens Nordosten ist ein Paradies für sich, das bisher nur Wenige kennengelernt haben. Die Naturschätze dieser spärlich besiedelten Region sind allerdings unermesslich. In Assam schlägt das wilde Herz Asiens und ist das Pendant Afrikas – die Megafauna umfasst Elefant, Büffel und Nashorn sowie 7 Arten von Katzen. Diese Reise, die von lokalen englischsprachigen Guides begleitet wird, kannst du auf Anfrage flexibel innerhalb der angegebenen Daten buchen. 

Stationen

Delhi – Guwahati – Nameri – Kaziranga – Gibbon Sanctuary – Dibru-Saikhowa – Diburgarh – Delhi

Transport

Flugzeug, Auto mit privatem Chauffeur 

Big Cats

Tiger, Leopard, Nebelparder

Reisezeit

1. Oktober – 30. Mai

Dauer der Reise

12 Tage

Recommended_TripAdvisor_green_DE.png
 

Preise Option A
in 3  Sterne Hotels & Lodges

bei 2 Pers. CHF 4200.–* pro Person

bei 4 Pers. CHF 3590.–pro Person

Preise Option B
in 4 Sterne Hotels & Lodges

bei 2 Pers. CHF 5990.–* pro Person

bei 4 Pers. CHF 5200.–* pro Person

* Diese Preise gelten für Reisen bis zum 30.6.20 mit Ausnahme der Periode vom 21.12.19-5.1.20. Preise für diese Periode auf Anfrage.

Unterkünft​e

2 Nächte in Delhi

A & B Holiday Inn Aero City

2 Nächte in Nameri

A & B Eco Camp

3 Nächte in Kaziranga

A Jupuri Ghar

B IORA Retreat

 

1 Nacht im Gibbon Wildlife Sanctuary

A Gibbon Home Stay

B Banyan Grove Heritage (Bungalow)

 

3 Nächte in Dibru-Saikhowa

A Padmini Resort

B Wathai Heritage Tea (Bungalow)

 

reiseplan

Tag 1

Ankunft in Delhi

Individuelle Anreise nach Delhi. Abholung und Begrüssung am Flughafen durch unseren englischsprachigen Vertreter, der dich zum Hotel bringt, dir beim Einchecken behilflich ist und die restlichen Reisedokumente übergibt. Übernachtung im Hotel.

Tag 2

Delhi – Guwahati – Nameri

Flug & 5 – 6 Stunden Fahrt, 280 km

Morgens nach dem Frühstück Transfer zum Flughafen und um 07.45 Uhr mit dem Flugzeug nach Guwahati im Bundesstaat Assam. Ankunft am Flughafen Guwahati um 10.00 Uhr, wo du von unserem Fahrer abgeholt und in den Nameri-Nationalpark gebracht wirst. Nach der Ankunft Check-in und Mittagessen in der Lodge. Abendliche Vogelbeobachtung in der Nähe der Lodge mit einem lokalen Guide. Abendessen und Übernachtung in der Lodge.

Tag 3

In Nameri
Unternimm wahlweise einen Dschungel-Spaziergang, eine Bootsfahrt oder geh raften auf dem Fluss Jia Bhoroli, der den Park durchquert. Nameri ist ein Traum für jeden Naturliebhaber – die traumhaft wilde Landschaft bietet Lebensraum für eine exotische Vielfalt von Pflanzen und Tieren – darunter Elefanten und Raubtiere wie Tiger, Leoparden, Nepelparder, Lippenbären und Brillenbären. Mit über 300 Vogelarten ist Nameri auch ein phantastisches Ziel für ornithologisch Interessierte. Nameri liegt in den Ausläufern des östlichen Himalayas im Sonitpur District, etwa 35 km von der grösseren Ortschaft Tezpur entfernt. Das nächstgelegene Dorf Chariduar ist rund 9 km vom Park entfernt.

 

Hinweis:

  • Die oben genannten Aktivitäten sind nicht immer verfügbar und hängen unter anderem von den Wetterbedingungen ab.

Tag 4  
Nameri – Kaziranga 2 Stunden Fahrt, 90 km

Frühmorgendlicher Dschungel-Spaziergang zur Vogel- und Tierbeobachtung. Nach dem Frühstück Fahrt nach Kaziranga. Nach der Ankunft Check-in, Mittagessen und nachmittags Jeep-Safari im Nationalpark. Kaziranga’s sensationelle Artenvielfalt und Grosstierdichte ist einzigartig und UNESCO Weltnaturerbe. Bestaune die gewaltigen Pflanzenfresser Panzernashorn, Elefant und den gewaltigen wilden Wasserbüffel aus nächster Nähe. Abendessen und Übernachtung in der Lodge.

Tag 5

In Kaziranga 

Frühstück, Mittag- und Abendessen in der Lodge. Morgens und abends je eine Jeep-Safari in Kaziranga. Geniesse die unglaubliche Fauna dieses ausserordentlichen Nationalparks!

Tag 6 
In Kaziranga

Frühstück, Mittag- und Abendessen in der Lodge. Nach dem Frühstück Motorboot-Safari auf dem Brahmaputra zur Beobachtung des Gangesdelfin. Mittagessen mit Lunchpaket unterwegs im Freien. Abendessen und Übernachtung in der Lodge.

Tag 7 
Kaziranga – Gibbon Sanctuary

2-3 Stunden Fahrt, 110 km

Am Morgen Jeep-Safari im Nationalpark und später Fahrt zum Gibbon Wildlife Sanctuary. Bei der Ankunft Check-in und Mittagessen im Gästehaus. Am Nachmittag Besuch des Gibbon Wildlife Sanctuary. Abendessen und Übernachtung im Gästehaus.

 

Im einzigartigen Gibbon Wildlife Sanctuary leben 7 Arten von Primaten, darunter Indiens einziger Menschenaffe – der Weissbrauengibbon. Das Gibbon Sanctuary ist ein isoliertes Schutzgebiet mit immergrünem Tropenwald, das 1881 gegründet wurde. Seither ist der Wald rundherum stark abgeholzt worden und wird nun von Teegärten und kleinen Dörfern umgeben.

Tag 8
Gibbon Sanctuary – Dibru-Saikhowa

3-4 Stunden Fahrt, 180 km

Morgens ein weiterer Besuch im Gibbon Sanctuary auf der Suche nach Gibbons und anderen Wildtieren. Später Transfer zur Lodge nahe Dibru-Saikhowa im Ort Tinsukia. Check-in und Mittagessen in der Lodge. Am Nachmittag Besuch des Marschsees von Maguri Beel, um nach seltenen Watvögeln Ausschau zu halten. Abendessen und Übernachtung in der Lodge.

Tag 9
In Dibru-Saikhowa

Du erkundest den Dibru-Saikhowa-Nationalpark ganztags mit dem Motorboot und zu Fuss. Dibru-Saikhowa ist ein wenig bekannter, aber sehr lohnenswertester Nationalpark in Assam, wenn auch mit sehr einfachen Unterkünften. Der Park ist bekannt für seine Wildpferde und Wasserbüffel und beherbergt weltweit bedrohte Vogelarten wie Malaienente, Kaiserreiher, Sunda-Maribu, Bindenseeadler und Sumpffrankolin.

Tag 10

Im Dehing Patkai Wildlife Sanctuary

Ganztägige Safari im Dehing Patkai Wildlife Sanctuary. Mit Bengaltiger, Indischem Leopard, Nepelparder, Rohrkatze, Asiatischer Goldkatze, Bengalkatze und Marmorkatze ist dies der einzige bekannte Wald der Welt, der 7 verschiedene Arten von Wildkatzen beherbergt. Auch für Primaten ist Dehing Patkei ein Traum: von den fünfzehn Primaten, die in Indien gefunden wurden, leben sieben in diesem Regenwald. Abendessen und Übernachtung in der Lodge.

Tag 11

Dehing Patkai Wildlife Sanctuary – Diburgarh 2 Stunden Fahrt, 70 km

Am Morgen erneuter Besuch im Wildlife Sanctuary mit anschliessender Fahrt zum Flughafen von Diburgarh. Abflug nach Delhi um 14.05 mit Ankunft um 18.20 Uhr. Transfer zum Hotel. Check-in und Übernachtung im Hotel.

Tag 12
Delhi & individuelle Heim- oder Weiterreise

Tag zur freien Verfügung in Delhi oder individuelle Weiterreise. Am Abend Transfer zum internationalen Flughafen.

 

Leistungen

Die oben genannten Preise pro Person beinhalten:

  • Hotel in Delhi inklusive Frühstück           

  • Lodge in Nameri, Kaziranga, Gibbon Sanctuary und Dibru-Saikhowa  mit Vollpension und Safaris

  • Durchgehende Bereitstellung von sicherem Trinkwasser in Hotels, Lodges und Fahrzeugen

  • Inlandflüge in der Economy-Class Delhi-Guwahati mit Air Asia und Diburgarh– Delhi mit Indigo Airlines

  • Eintritte und Guides in Nameri, Kaziranga, Gibbon Wildlife Sanctuary, Dibru-Saikhowa und Dehing Patkai Wildlife Sanctuary

  • Privater Geländewagen im Gibbon Sanctuary und Dibru-Saikhowa

  • Private Bootssafari in Maguri Beel und Dibru-Saikhowa

  • Private Safari im Motorgummiboot in Nameri

  • Private Flussdelifin-Safari im Motorboot in Kaziranga

  • 5 exklusive Safaris im 4X4 Jeep in Kaziranga

  • 1 Safari auf dem Elefanten während dem Aufenthalt in Kaziranga

  • Lokale englischsprachige Guides

  • Gebühren für den lokalen Ranger/Guide des Forstministeriums

  • Assistenz an Flughäfen und in den Unterkünften

  • Alle Landtransfers mit privatem Chauffeur im klimatisierten Toyota Innova

  • Alle derzeit geltenden Steuern

  • Die 5% des Reisepreises, die an ein Umwelt- oder Sozialprojekt vor Ort gespendet werden. Du erhältst bei der Buchung genauere Informationen über die unterstützten Projekte.


Folgendes ist nicht inbegriffen:

  • Individuelle Anreise nach Delhi 

  • Visum: alle ausländischen Besucher benötigen ein gültiges Visum für Indien: am einfachsten beantragst du ein e-Tourist-Visum direkt online: indianvisaonline.gov.in/visa. Das e-Visum kann bis zu 120 Tage im Voraus beantragt werden und gilt ab dem Tag der Einreise. Für ein reguläres Visum musst du deinen Pass an eine indische Vertretung in deinem Heimatland schicken. Mehr Infos dazu findest du auf der Webseite der indischen Vertretungen in der Schweiz indembassybern.gov.in, in Deutschland indianembassyberlin.gov.in sowie in Österreich blsindiavisa-austria.com. Der Pass sollte auf jeden Fall noch 6 Monate über die Gültigkeitsdauer deines Visums hinaus gültig sein.

  • Trinkgelder für Fahrer und Guides: Trinkgeld wird erwartet, wenn du zufrieden bist – für ausserordentliche Leistungen kannst du auch über unsere Empfehlungen hinausgehen. Rechne mit 400-600 INR pro Guide und 300-500 für den Fahrer pro Tag resp. die Hälfte davon für einen halben Tag oder eine einzelne Safari.

  • Trinkgelder in den Hotels/Lodges: wir empfehlen, kein Trinkgeld an einzelne Mitarbeitende wie den Portier zu geben, da dies den anderen gegenüber ungerecht wäre. Gib stattdessen am Ende deines Aufenthalts etwas in die meist vorhandene Tip Box – das Trinkgeld wird dann gleichmässig unter dem Personal verteilt. Wir empfehlen rund 5 US $ oder 350 INR pro Person und Tag.

  • Eventuell anfallende Gebühren für Foto- und Videokameras in den Nationalparks und an Denkmälern 

  • Ausgaben persönlicher Natur wie Rauchen, Softdrinks, Alkohol, Wäsche und Telefonate.

  • Reiseversicherung

  • Alles, was nicht in den Einschlüssen erwähnt ist.

 

Hinweise 

  • Check-in und Check-out sind jeweils um 12.00 Uhr mittags.

  • Falls das vorgesehene Hotel oder die normale Zimmerkategorie ausverkauft ist, werden alternative Unterkünfte vorgeschlagen.

  • Einzelzimmerzuschläge oder grössere Gruppen auf Anfrage

  • Unsere Jeep-Safaris sind auf exklusiver Basis, das heisst du teilst deinen Jeep mit keinen anderen Reisenden.

  • Reise idealerweise in Zweier- oder Vierergruppen, da die Safari-Jeeps maximal 4 Touristen fassen (5 sind möglich, aber nicht sonderlich komfortabel)

  • Die Zuteilung der Zone, in der die einzelnen Safaris stattfinden, ist je nach Park abhängig von der Forstbehörde und kann nur bedingt beeinflusst werden.

  • Die Eintritte in die Nationalparks oder staatliche Steuern können jederzeit ändern. Solche Änderungen werden dir frühzeitig mitgeteilt.

  • Safari-Bewilligungen müssen in den meisten Parks 120 Tage im Voraus beantragt werden. Kurzfristige Buchungen oder Namensänderungen unter 120 Tagen vor Reisetermin sind daher in der Regel nicht möglich. 

  • Die oben genannten Fahrzeiten von einem Ort zum anderen basieren auf den normalen Strassenverhältnissen und können variieren. Jede Pause für Essen, Tee, Toiletten etc. verlängert die Fahrzeiten.

  • Impfungen: bitte informiere dich über die aktuellen Empfehlungen von safetravel.ch. Generell sind Standard-Impfungen sowie Hepathitis A empfohlen. Ein Stand-by-Präparat für Malaria wie Riamet oder Malarone kann besonders im Nordosten sinnvoll sein. Guter Mückenschutz und langärmlige Kleidung im Freien sind auf jeden Fall von Vorteil.