Contact

Big Cats of India LLC . Altwiesenstrasse 181 . 8051 Zurich

.

.

Switzerland

Tel. +1 (971) 728-1887 (US)

© 2018 by Big Cats of India LLC

Dibru-Saikhowa National Park

Unique river island and biosphere reserve


Dibru-Saikhowa National Park 

Tinsukia District, Assam

Information

 

Mohanbari (Dibrugarh), 40 km

340 km2 und 425 km2 buffer zone

 

 

October 15 – June 15

 

 

November to April

Portrait

This rarely visited, wild and beautiful national park in the north-eastern tip of the state of Assam is one of the 19 biodiversity hotspots in the world and is also a biosphere reserve. Dibru-Saikhowa lies in the alluvial plains of the Brahmaputra and is a safe haven for a number of extremely rare mammals, birds, fish and (medicinal) plants. The wetlands glistening in the sun paint a picture of rare beauty. 

Terrain

Dibru-Saikhowa forms a large river island, bordering the Brahmaputra and Arunachal Hills to the north and the Dibru and Paktai Hills to the south. The park is divided into nine zones one of which consists of swampy alluvial land, while the others are dominated by dense tropical forest. 

Peculiarities

Dibru-Saikhowa is home to wild horses that must have escaped from captivity in the past – nobody knows exactly where they come from. However, they have become an integral part of the park's fauna and are a pretty photo subject. Dibru-Saikhowa is also a worthwhile destination for ornithologists – more than 300 endangered species populate the park, including the Bengal florican.

Kontakt

Big Cats of India GmbH . Altwiesenstrasse 181 . 8051 Zürich

.

.

Schweiz

Tel. +41 44 585 16 06 

© 2018 by Big Cats of India GmbH

Dibru-Saikhowa Nationalpark

Einzigartige Flussinsel und Biosphärenreservat


Dibru-Saikhowa National Park 

Tinsukia District, Assam

Information

 

Mohanbari (Dibrugarh), 40 km

340 km2 und 425 km2 Bufferzone

 

 

15. Oktober – 15. Juni

 

 

November bis April

Kurzportrait

Dieser wenig besuchte, wilde und wunderschöne Nationalpark im nordöstlichen Zipfel des Staates Assam bildet einen der 19 Biodiversity-Hotspots der Welt und ist ebenso ein Biosphärenreservat. Dibru-Saikhowa liegt im Schwemmland des Brahmaputra und bietet einer Reihe extrem seltener Säugetiere, Vögel, Fische und (Heil-)Pflanzen einen sicheren Zufluchtsort. Die in der Sonne glitzernden Feuchtgebiete zeichnen ein Bild von rarer Schönheit. 

Terrain

Dibru-Saikhowa bildet eine grosse Fluss-Insel, die im Norden an den Brahmaputra und die Arunachal Hills und im Süden an den Fluss Dibru und die Paktai Hills grenzt. Der Park ist in neun Zonen unterteilt – davon macht eine Zone sumpfiges Schwemmland aus, während die anderen von vorwiegend dichtem tropischem Wald dominiert werden. 

Besonderes

In Dibru-Saikhowa leben Wildpferde, die wohl einst aus Gefangenschaft entflohen sind – woher sie kommen, weiss niemand so genau. Sie sind aber zu einem festen Bestandteil der Fauna des Parks geworden und geben ein hübsches Fotosujet her. Auch für Ornithologen ist Dibru-Saikhowa ein lohnendes Ziel – mehr als 300 teils stark bedrohte Arten bevölkern den Park, darunter auch der Bengalische Florican.