Contact

Big Cats of India LLC . Altwiesenstrasse 181 . 8051 Zurich

.

.

Switzerland

Tel. +1 (971) 728-1887 (US)

© 2018 by Big Cats of India LLC

Satpura National Park

The picturesque kingdom of 6 species of wild cat

 

 

Bhopal, 190 km

1339 km2 including Bori and Pachmarhi + 794 km2 buffer zone

 

 

Oktober 16 – June 30

 

 

November to April

Portrait

The name Satpura means "seven hills" in Sanskrit and is derived from the range of hills of the same name that runs through the park. Together with the adjacent wildlife reserves of Bori and Pachmarhi, Satpura forms a unique natural landscape in the central Indian highlands that covers more than 1427 km2 and boasts an extremely high biodiversity.

Terrain

Satpura's beautifully green landscape is rugged and consists of a mixture of sandstone hills, narrow gorges with streams, valleys and dense forests. The terrain bridges an altitude difference of more than 1000 meters and varies between 300 and 1352 meters above sea level.

Peculiarities

Satpura is a highlight for nature lovers who don't want to see a tiger in the first place – there are considerably fewer tourists and jeeps on the road here than in the more famous parks, tiger sightings are also rather rare. But Satpura boasts a fantastic landscape with a breathtaking biodiversity: there are 6 species of wild cats living here and good chances of spotting leopards, wild dogs and sloth bears, which are rarely seen in other central Indian parks. Satpura offers you a unique natural experience - it is the only tiger reserve in India where you can go on a walking safari. Tours on the water are also possible thanks to the Tawa River and the reservoir bearing the same name.

Satpura-Nationalpark

Das malerische Reich von 6 Katzen

 

 

Bhopal, 190 km

1339 km2 inklusive Bori und Pachmarhi + 794 km2 Bufferzone

 

 

16. Oktober – 30. Juni

 

 

November bis April

Kurzportrait

Der Name Satpura bedeutet „Sieben Hügel“ in Sanskrit und ist von der gleichnamigen Hügelkette abgeleitet, die sich durch den Park zieht. Zusammen mit den angrenzenden Wildtier-Reservaten Bori und Pachmarhi bildet Satpura eine einzigartige Naturlandschaft im zentralindischen Hochland, die mehr als 1427 km2 abdeckt und eine extrem hohe Biodiversität aufweist.

Terrain

Satpura’s wunderschön grüne Landschaft ist zerklüftet und besteht aus einer Mischung aus Sandstein-Hügeln, engen Schluchten mit Bächen, Tälern und dichten Wäldern. Das Terrain überbrückt einen Höhenunterschied von mehr als 1000 m und variert zwischen 300 und 1352 Metern über Meer.

Besonderes

Satpura ist das Highlight für Naturliebhaber, die nicht in erster Linie einen Tiger sehen wollen – hier sind deutlich weniger Touristen und Jeeps unterwegs als in den bekannteren Parks, Tigersichtungen auch eher selten. Dafür trumpft Satpura mit seiner fantastischen Landschaft, einer atemberaubenden Vielfalt – hier leben 6 Wildkatzenarten – und guten Chancen auf Sichtungen von Leoparden, Wildhunden und Lippenbären, die man in anderen Parks Zentralindiens selten zu sehen bekommt. Satpura bietet Ihnen das besondere Naturerlebnis – es ist das einzige Tigerreservat Indiens, wo Sie sich auch zu Fuss auf Safari begeben können. Touren auf dem Wasser sind dank des Flusses Tawa und des gleichnamigen Stausees ebenfalls möglich. 

Kontakt

Big Cats of India GmbH . Altwiesenstrasse 181 . 8051 Zürich

.

.

Schweiz

Tel. +41 44 585 16 06 

© 2018 by Big Cats of India GmbH